Is Rejecting Rome the Only Protestant Unity?

Andre writes:

In my exit interview, federal vision, NPP, and NT Wright were suddenly my pastor’s best friends. He told me that he’d be comfortable if I worshipped with them but that he would worry for my soul if I joined the Catholic Church. When I heard that, I was even more comforted by my decisions. Because suspicion toward Rome seems to be the only thing uniting Protestants at this point.

First, let me tip my hat to Andre for at least going through the “exit interview” process.  While I am sure I have a lot of issues with him and his views, I am glad to see that he took the process with more seriousness than many.

That said, Andre has a warped perspective.  His former pastor would say the same thing if Andre was leaving for Islam or Mormonism, both of which claim (like Romanism) to have an authority that either de facto or de jure supercedes the Bible.  The problem is that Andre has left the visible church to join a church that rejects the gospel and has a history of persecuting those who preach the gospel.

We would and do give him the same sorts of warnings we give to those who leave for Islam or Mormonism.  The Roman magisterium is no more legitimate than Mohammed or Joseph Smith, notwithstanding their lofty claims for themselves.  We fear for the souls of those who take such actions, because they are turning their backs on the gospel, and departing from the catholic and apostolic faith.

Our warnings to those who join the federal visionist or new perspectivist groups tend to be somewhat different, mainly because their serious doctrinal errors there do not necessarily rise to the level of rejecting the gospel.  The warnings we would give in those cases would be similar to the warnings we would give to someone leaving to a Methodist or Lutheran church.

I’m not sure whether Andre understands this important distinction between the gospel and other important doctrines.  I will, however, pray for his repentance and restoration to the visible church.

-TurretinFan

22 Responses to “Is Rejecting Rome the Only Protestant Unity?”

  1. Ryan Says:
  2. turretinfan Says:
  3. Ryan Says:
  4. Ryan Says:
  5. Ron Says:
  6. turretinfan Says:
  7. turretinfan Says:
  8. Ryan Says:
  9. turretinfan Says:
  10. Ryan Says:
  11. turretinfan Says:
  12. Ryan Says:
  13. turretinfan Says:
  14. PeaceByJesus Says:
  15. Ryan Says:
  16. Puritanchristian Says:
  17. Puritanchristian Says:
  18. turretinfan Says:
  19. Ryan Says:
  20. turretinfan Says:
  21. Ryan Says:
  22. David Meyer Says:

Leave a Reply

